Navajo Times All-Stars

All-Star awards ceremony scheduled April 26

Navajo Times

WINDOW ROCK, May 19, 2012

Text size: A A A

A thletes and coaches who were named to the winter sports 2011-12 Navajo Times All-Star list will be honored at a ceremony scheduled for April 26 at the Phil Thomas Performing Arts Center in Shiprock.

Athletes and coaches will participate in a photo shoot beginning at 1 p.m. (DST). Athletes are encouraged to bring school uniforms - matching if from the same school - and dress in semiformal attire for the rest of the ceremony. Coaches are encouraged to dress in school colors as well.

Professional long-distance runner Alvina Begay, of Ganado, Ariz., will deliver the keynote address.

After successful collegiate careers at Adams State College in Alamosa, Colo. and Arizona State University, Begay continues to shine as a post collegian. She's finished in the top 10 in five US road championships, qualified for the 2008 and 2012 Olympic Marathon Trials, represented the United States internationally and finished 10th in the ING New York City Marathon.

The athletes and coaches of the year will be awarded plaques. Other All-Stars will be recognized in the Navajo Times and awarded with certificates and T-shirts.

The co-players of the year for girls' basketball are Tuba City's Jamie Roe and Kirtland Central's Raquel Woody.

Kirtland Central's Kevin Holman and Many Farms' Tracy Todecheene are the coaches of the year for girls' basketball.

Holbrook's Torrian Epps and Gallup's Nick August are the co-players of the year for boys' basketball.

Coaches of the year are Holbrook's Raul Mendoza and Shiprock's Chester Atcitty Jr.

Peoria's Jaimen Bennalley, Page's Julius Descheenie and Parker's Aaron Herder are the Arizona wrestlers of the year for the heavy-, middle- and lower-weight categories, respectively.

Shiprock's Zane Frasier, Bloomfield's Mikey Loy and Miyamura's Brandon Garnanez are the New Mexico wrestlers of the year for the heavy-, middle- and lower-weight categories.

Tuba City's Roman McCabe and Piedra Vista's Levi Stout are the wrestling coaches of the year.

The following is a tentative agenda for the ceremony:

  • Photo shoot for all-star basketball and wrestling teams
  • Welcome
  • Invocation
  • Introduction of Navajo Times staff
  • Presentation of wrestling awards
  • Keynote address
  • Presentation of basketball awards
  • Presentation of athletes and coaches of the year awards
  • Closing remarks
Athletes may bring up to five people for the event. No food will be served. A representative may accept the award for any athlete who will not be in attendance.

Information: 928-871-1142.

Back to top ^