17 hopefuls file for Navajo Nation president

By Bill Donovan
Special to the Times

WINDOW ROCK, June 5, 2014

Text size: A A A

A near record 17 men and women have filed to run for Navajo Nation president in the upcoming primary.


View the list of official candidates currently certified for the Navajo Nation election this summer. (PDF, requires the free Adobe Reader.)

The number matches the record number of candidates in the 2002 primary.

The people who filed are Joe Shirley Jr. and Myron McLaughlin, both from the Chinle Chapter; Chris Deschene and Dale E. Tsosie, both from LeChee; Donald Benally, Duane "Chili" Yazzie, Russell Begay and Dan Smith, all from the Shiprock Chapter; Kenneth Maryboy from Mexican Water, Edison "Chip" Begay from Tohatchi; Edison Wauneka from Oaksprings, Ben Shelly from Thoreau, Kee Yazzie Mann from K'Ai'Bii'To, Carrie Lynn Martin from Bodaway/Gap, Moroni Benally from To Likan, Cal Nez from Tse alnaozt'i'i and Hank Whitethorne from Shonto.

How to get The Times:

Back to top ^